Licensing Update

An update on product licensing and availability. We were informed by a data licensor that the product access to PolarView NS must be no less restrictive than access to the data source. Free application with fee-based network data access is not compatible with the licensing requirements.

Product compliance requires us to either provide free data access or implement application licensing as well. Nice though it may be, free data access and free application is clearly not financially feasible.

So, not without some reservations, but also with hope for a more sustainable outlook, PolarView NS will, again, require a subscription to use. PolarView NS subscription will be included, along with data access, as part of either US or UK chart subscription.

We expect the updated version of PolarView to be available for download in the next few days.

19 Responses to Licensing Update

  1. Rick Macdonald says:

    I’ve had Polarview licenses for over 6 years now. It’s not quite clear to me, but am I correct that with V3 I’ll still have all the same functionality and access and won’t notice any difference?

    • polarnavy says:

      There is no difference in functionality. However, after an initial subscription (given to all existing users) runs out, you would need to extend it for a fee to continue using it.

  2. John Reid says:

    What is the fee amount; i.e, what’s the cost of a subscription?

  3. Rick Macdonald says:

    Is that per year? And when the subscription runs out, are we locked out of running the program at all, or just locked out of downloading updated charts and Active Captain data?

    • polarnavy says:

      Subscription is annual. Users should renew their subscription to continue accessing online services AND using the program. As far as “lock out” is concerned – when shopping at a brick and mortar business, customers are expected to pay for goods and services rendered regardless of whether armed guards are posted at the door 🙂 PolarView security measures will be adjusted based on user compliance.

  4. David Lewis says:

    Is that $20.00 per year per account or per computer, in the past I have had up to five computers. 2 on my vessel (one for planning and one for anchor watch) one on my laptop and one at home on my desktop. Then sometimes I would load one computer for testing instruments and that was $49 for five computers for lots of years, but until July 2016, I guess!

    • polarnavy says:

      Price is per subscription. Users can use one subscription on all computers they own.

      If you ordered an activation code in the past, you have subscription until at least 08/2017.

      • Alun Davies says:

        Does the cut off date 08/2017 apply to an active account using Version 2 with UK charts or only to Version 3 if I upgrade?

      • polarnavy says:

        Licensing for version 2.0 is not account based and has no time constraints.
        The complimentary subscription is applicable only to new installations of version 3.0

      • Alun Davies says:

        Does this mean then that if I upgrade to Version 3 I should get a complimentary year subscription to UK charts? I tried upgrading and after going through the “missing activation” link to get a new account I was then taken to a payment page charging me 30 usd, so do I or do I not get a complimentary year??

      • polarnavy says:

        There are no complimentary UK chart subscriptions now, nor in the past. According to UKHO licensing rules users can purchase 1 year of access to download UK charts. This has been the case since we began offering UKHO chart downloads. If your UK chart original order is less than 1 year old, it will continue to be available as a subscription to UKHO charts in version 3.0. If your UK chart order was made more than 1 year ago, you need to order a new UK chart subscription.

      • Alun Davies says:

        OK that’s clear so as long as I stay with version 2 my current UK charts subscription which is over 1 yr old, the UK charts I already have will be valid indefinitely. The other thing I’m still unclear about is the difference between Version 2 and Version 3. As best I can understand there were a few bugs fixes and major change to licensing, but no new user developments?

      • Alun Davies says:

        OK that’s clear so as long as I stay with version 2 my current UK charts subscription which is over 1 yr old, the UK charts I already have will be valid indefinitely. The other thing I’m still unclear about is the difference between Version 2 and Version 3. As best I can understand there were a few bugs fixes and major change to licensing, but no new user developments?

  5. Bob McLeran says:

    Earlier in May 2016 I encountered an issue when I upgraded to a newer version of Windows (to Win10 from Win7 and Win8) on two computers and was told that OS upgrades count against the “five computer” limit per account (so I’ve now reached my limit of five instances). Is that still the case? Are you still giving credit when necessary to upgrade to a newer OS (beyond the original five) as I still have one desktop computer to upgrade to Win10?

  6. Bill Kinney says:

    Other than licensing issues, are there any other changes with Ver 3 ?

  7. Chris Ellingsen says:

    I don’t understand this “product compliance requirement” that somehow prohibits you from doing what you want with your own application. Clearly an application and the services it accesses are two separate things.

    There are many (very many) apps online that are free to install on phones, computers, etc. and function well, but also require some kind of subscriptions for enhanced features.

    Why are you limited in what you can do with your product?

    • polarnavy says:

      We are not limited to what we can do to the product, however we are limited to what we can use based on product licensing. I.e. – if we use data that belongs to someone else, someone else gets to say what they are willing or not willing to work with. In any case, the point is no longer relevant as product licensing has been updated.

Leave a Reply

