User Comments About Our Products

We get quite a bit of user feedback – primarily support questions, and such. Sometimes you, guys, send us your compliments – please know that these are always greatly appreciated!

A few “official” reviews:

Polar Navy Provides Free Chart Viewer, Inexpensive Chartplotter by Jane Anderson
PolarView Review at Panbo by Ben Ellison
Choosing a chartplotter program for ActiveCaptain users by Tom Lochhaas

Here is what our users are saying about Polar Navy products.

I became a PolarView NS customer a couple of weeks ago, which coincides with a couple of upcoming deliveries so I’ve been using it heavily. I am so impressed. PolarView NS is clean and quick, well thought out and well executed. Routing and “what if” scenarios take a fraction of the time I was used to spend with the navigational software I previously used, and I thought it was pretty good. Thanks too for promptly answering my couple of newbie questions which helped me start making the most of the program faster; much appreciated. For me, PolarView NS is indispensable. Great job, and thank you. J.R.
I really like your chart management (really simpler than the one from MacENC). P.E.
I installed Polar View some time back and it is working great. I love your product. R.S.
A very nice program. Great job – I really like what you’ve done. … The GRIB files in particular are great! Keep it up! I look forward to future releases. J.A.
The maps look great! D.Q.
Keeps getting better! I just installed the update for PolarView, works great on my MacBook Pro! P.U.
I’m starting to use PolarView, congratulations, you did a nice job (sorry, I’m French speaking, and writing in English is not so easy). I like your PolarView software, …I will tell friends of mine to download PolarView. V.J.
I love Polar View compared to others, the seamless integration between maps is great. S.C.
Good people at polar navy your app looks great. M.O
Thought I’d pass on how much I like your GRIB data interface. I played around with Fugawi’s 10 day demo tonight and your interface and display for GRIB is much better! B.H.
The search by distance of tide stations works great. Thanks again! I like this even more!! B.M.
I’m glad I found your company and its products. I spent many years programming mobile applications, even before there were really platforms for them. Your software appears to work just fine, and I know how rare that can be! R.O.
Here are my comments about AIS functionality of PolarCOM and PolarView: The software is clear, simple and fast and the user interface is very friendly and intuitive. Many similar products are very “sluggish” but your performance is great. The performance of your graphics is excellent. P.S.
Hello Polar Navy team! It’s really great software! S.E.
You did a great job with that new version of Polar View! Some friends of mine discovered Polar View and enjoy to use it. J.C.
You rock! Installed on both laptops, and it works great. Thanks for all your help – it really makes me feel a lot better about this program! B.H.
I’m up and running – everything seems to work great! Really like the new version of PolarView with scale and coordinates shown. B.T.
I can’t tell you enough how great these apps look on the MiND’s screen. And the tiling of S57 and BSB3 maps! awesome! Of course, with the screen scaling, moving the map around is not exactly zippy, but what do you expect for an 800MHz processor with 512MB. great, great, GREAT software. Really. J.T.
I have spent some time with PolarCOM and PolarView and I’m really impressed. The chart management and grib utilities work flawlessly. In my experience this is no small achievement. And the routing interface is very clean. A.K.
Just wanted to say thanks. It’s nice to see someone doing something like this with Macs. M.T.
Polar Navy is an example of a product that I can see there are other competitors that are free like OpenCPN and SeaClear, but you get what you pay for, and Polar View keeps getting better, and is definitely worth the license fee, it’s in a class of its own. The gauges in particular are something no other software seems to even have let alone the great implementation you’ve given them. T.G.
The user interface is very clean and uncluttered compared with some bloatware cluttered screens. I hope you will keep it this way. R.F.
Looks like a great program, can’t wait to try it out this summer sailing in Massachusetts Bay. W.L.
I am starting to play with your software and love it!! What a great solution for charting and the cost is very reasonable! Thank you so much! I am planning a trip from Portland, OR to Seward, AK to deliver my new boat to her homeport and this is going to be my en route charting solution. J.D.
The program is great. I was showing one of my buddies down at the marina on saturday…..and he went into his boat and downloaded it ! Thanks for the quick support. W.L.
I bought the full version and I love it! Thanks again for a great product! Your response is amazing, so fast!!! I have been telling everyone I know that has a boat (a lot of people!) about how great your software is. D.J.
Great product for viewing GRIB files on the Mac: more power to your elbow. A.W.
Your PolarCom is great in its features of: enabling your own setting for WHAT items to display and enabling HOW to display (dial versus digital), setting the size of the relevant display(s), setting the transparancy. I do wish to compliment you on a great additional navigation tool for the on board PC. P.M.
PolarView is an excellent program to view charts and grib data. I’ts very easy to operate, fast and has a good layout. What I like specially is the fact, that charts with more details (smaller scale) are shown emebdded in the overview charts. T.P.
Quite impressive! … simple to use, intuitive UI. Especially I like that there is only one ZOOM-function integrated with up-and downscaling. I like that the program is in three logical parts, planning/routing(view), instrumentation(com) and actual sailing(is). Very good quilting…. Very easy chart installation, no problems with S57 and BSB. First product at reasonable price, covering S63. Intuitive hotkeys and excellent quick guide documentation. Not bad at a good price! O.M.
I have downloaded PolarView and PolarCOM to my laptop that I use on my sailboat for navigation. I use this time of the year to upgrade my navigation system for use in the spring. Your software products are excellent, I am very impressed, and I hope to rely upon them for the upcoming sailing season. Since I sail in both US and Canadian waters…, the ability of your software to load NOAA ENC S57 charts along with the S63 charts for the Canadian ports is invaluable to me – outstanding! P.B.
As a developer myself, I’d just like to thank you all for the work on the Polar Navy suite. J.J.
Great! Finally an clear, efficient and complete software to display NMEA datas. That I like very much: The general concept and the sobriety of displays design, the fully customisable and scalable window(s) with the on-top fonction, the multiplexer integrated, the facility of configuration. F.B.
Great software!!! Much smoother than OpenCPN. K.D.
I am now back from Bermuda having raced down and delivered back using your software the whole way. It worked very very well. Both the visual vector arrow on PolarView and also the dials in PolarCOM were very easy to use to visualize what is going on. I used PolarView / PolarCOM continuously for 4 days from Newport to Bermuda and 6 days coming back. PolarView worked flawlessly the whole time. Not a single crash or reboot in 240 hours of continuous use. A.K.
I love this software. Even though I am a professional mariner, and have access to Rose Point and The Cap N, I like the cross platform ability of PolarView. I am an oil spill contractor and my work takes me to some tight spots. I always like to take a look on the chart before I navigate to the site. Your software allows me to look at any chart from any computer. P.P.
This program is cooler and cooler the more I play with it. Great job keeping the focus on what’s truly important and working hard to do that as well as possible. It shows. D.C.

Comments are closed.

