Linux Version Support

It’s been a while, and now our Linux products are up to date and synchronized with Mac and Windows releases. We hope you find this new version useful and, as always, welcome questions and feedback.

As an open system, Linux comes in variety of distributions, aimed at different audiences and providing diverse functionality. From desktop to servers and embedded devices – there is a Linux out there to fit the need. This wide diversity brings with it distinct issues that are specific to each Linux distribution, makes troubleshooting and issue resolution more difficult.

Bear this in mind when using our Linux products. Download, install and try them. Make sure they work well on your preferred brand of Linux. If they do not – feel free to contact us, but remember that issues not specific to Polar Navy products may be difficult to resolve.

Having said that – we are glad you are here, and will do our best to make Linux users feel welcome.

17 Responses to Linux Version Support

  1. Paul Hickey says:

    I am intrigued by PolarView, however I see no installation/launching instructions, prerequisites, etc.

    • polarnavy says:

      Paul,

      The pre-requisites to using PolarView/PolarCOM on Linux are – a relatively modern system with GTK2 libraries and desktop environment. It is tough to pin down the right GLIBC version, but most modern Linux distributions (certainly in the last 2 years or so) should work. The product is built as a 32 bit application and should work on both 32 bit and 64 bit distributions.

      No specific installation is requires. Simply unarchive the file at the location of your choosing on the hard drive (tar -zxvf PolarView.tar.gz). This will create a directory called “bin” at the location where you open the archive which includes the program and all related data. To launch PolarView, from the directory above “bin” type “./bin/PolarView”, or use it’s full path name.

      Example (assuming you select /opt/polarnavy as the installation location):
      mkdir /opt
      mkdir /opt/polarnavy
      cd /opt/polarnavy
      tar -zxvf /path/to/downloaded/file/PolarView-1.2.tar.gz
      /opt/polarnavy/bin/PolarView

      To make this a desktop item or add the command to the Applications menu, please follow instructions for your particular window manager/desktop environment – there are quite a few out there and I am not familiar with all of them. Being a bit old-fashioned, my personal preference is to use command line shell under Linux 🙂 ).

  2. Paul Hickey says:

    Hello,
    Many thanks for your response. UPon trying to execute PolarView I receive “./PolarView.bin: error while loading shared libraries: libfontconfig.so.1: wrong ELF class: ELFCLASS64

    Originally it complained about the libfontconfig module which I copied to the bin directory and have progressed to the above error.

    I am on Fedora Core 11 kernel version 2.6.30.10-105.fc11.x86_64 glibc-2.10.2-1.x86_64 gtk2-2.16.6-2.fc11.x86_64

    I’m suspecting it wants the 32bit version of at least libfontconfig?

    Thanks Paul

    • polarnavy says:

      Our applications are 32 bit, and as such they require 32 bit libraries. On Ubuntu this is achieved by installing a package called ia32-libs – this will bring all the required libraries to the system.

      While I am not as familiar with Fedora, I expect that there is a similar package for it as well. Google search for “Fedora 32 bit compatibility” brings a few useful links.

      If you are unable to resolve this issue – contact me directly by email (use our “contact” page on the web site) and I will try to find a solution.

  3. j ferguson says:

    I had no trouble getting Polarview up and running on an HP G42 running Ubuntu 10.10. But before I go through the nightmare of extracting and converting my routes and tracks from a long time fugawi installation, (my problem not yours certainly) I need to know if I can display multiple historic tracks in addition to the current active track on polarview.

    This seems to be a feature that is not in great demand, but it is essential to us where we operate.

    john ferguson

    • polarnavy says:

      PolarView can show any number of previous tracks. By default PolarView is confugured to show 100 previous tracks. You can change this number as needed, although for performance reasons it is good to keep this number to a reasonable minimum.

      • j ferguson says:

        This is very good. Can I chose which ones to display? I ask because we’ll go into an old anchorage that we used and want to see what we did northbound 2005 and southbound 2007 but not any others.

        I know a lot of people just but down a way point, but i depend on prior shoal detection, as well as location of lousy holding which shows up in the tracks and in our logs.

        thanks for the speedy reply. I have to say that I was really impressed by the screen shot showing how to do the linux installation. If I can control which tracks show (clearly as few as possible) I’ll be delighted to write up the instructions on how to put it on the desktop in Nautilus at least. good luck with this.

        john ferguson

    • polarnavy says:

      You can only control the number of “most recent” (by date) tracks to display. As an (important) performance optimization, there is no way to control visibility of tracks individually unless you delete and re-load them later.

  4. j ferguson says:

    that’s too bad. Clearly i could make this work, but loading and unloading track files is a bit more work than picking the ones I want off a drop-down menu. I need to think about how important the quick change actually is.

    I’ve been assured by everyone that I’ve ever discussed this with that I’m the only one in the universe that runs this way.

    thanks again. John

    • polarnavy says:

      I think you have a valid use case, and it is something that that was actually considered during track handling design.

      However, the cost of allowing individual track visibility control (at least at the time the feature was developed) was too great in terms of performance loss (still is, though perhaps not quite as bad).

      Plus, it is one of those features that will help some users, and confuse others (as in “where are my tracks”). So it didn’t make the cut.

      It is on the “to reconsider” list, and may happen at some point, not imminently though.

  5. j ferguson says:

    FWIW, Fugawi doesn’t carry the track files live and show or not show them. This became obvious to me in 2004-5 when I’d accumulated a track which went up and down the east coast plus a number of years cruising in south florida. The number of lines in the file was out of sight and running on a 600 mHz P3, the performance got worse and worse. When I figured out what the problem was, I started a new track and saw a real performance increase. i then exported the monster track to text, broke it into 6 sections and reloaded each one into fugawi’s proprietary binary file format. This way I can show current and one old one at same time.

    So a workable method would be a menu which shows the available tracks with names controlled by user. choosing which ones are visible would load those but not any others. it’s really just a menu modification.

    You have my sympathy on the risks of featuritis – same thing as no good deed going unpunished.

    I’m very much tempted to convert a bunch of my old tracks to gpx and see how much trouble it actually is to use your software the way it is now – maybe no big deal.

    again thanks for discussing this with me.

    john

  6. j ferguson says:

    sorry, above not quite right. fugawi loads active track file and also the files it makes “visible.” the others just sit in a folder.

  7. j ferguson says:

    Gentlemen,
    This is fantastic software. I was able to transfer my waypoints, routes, tracks from my Fugawi 3.5 installation and find a way to selectively load and unload old tracks with very little effort.

    We’re running up the ICW right now, Fort George, FL tonight. I think I’m going to make tomorrow’s run to Fernandina with PolarView and if all is well, send you the money and get on with it.

    Nice going.

    john ferguson

  8. j ferguson says:

    I got it running, transferred my Fugawi Route, Waypoint and Track files and am able to use them just fine. So I gave PolarNavy their $39 and PolarView is what I’ll be running henceforth. It is a delight to be able to run a navigation program with very competitive features on Linux (Ubuntu 1.10 in this case) It’s fast and the quilting of NOAA raster charts is astonishing. We’re underway maybe 150 days/year with constant reference to our computer chart system (and the chart books handy too, but they can’t drive the autopilot)

    john

  9. waterman480 says:

    Comments were getting old – so it is time for a new one so everyone knows it is a current product. Install on Linux Mint 16 went without a hitch.

Leave a Reply

